SCC Presentation Night – Season 2013/14

blue logo

SCC Presentation night 2013/14

What a great night was had by all at this seasons gala event, Presentation night 2013/14. Hosted by Sunbury Bowling Club in their newly refurbished function room members were treated to an entertaining night of music and a fine three coarse meal.

President Scott Yardley recognised the Committee and Coaching panel for their efforts in at times was a busy season which included the move across to the Bowling Club and the hosting of the GDCA McIntyre Cup final at Clarke Oval. The Sunbury Bowling Club were thanked for their patience and understanding as we continue to build our new partnership. Partners of the Committee were presented a small gift as a special thank you.

Highlight of the night was the Life Membership presentations to Paul Webber and Scott Yardley.

Dean Surkitt recounted and spoke of the enduring cricket career of Paul which begun at Sunbury in 1986 as a young 16 y.o. player winning a first grade premiership to his current day ability to bat at No.3 also at the highest level. Paul during his career at Sunbury spanning over four decades is the all time games record holder and had also Captained and Coached our club at different times.

Travis Botten paid tribute to Scott reflecting on the previous difficult times the club faced in which Scott was always there pitching in where needed. As a young player Scott volunteered his time helping out by running the nets and in more recent times has served as Secretary and President where passion for our club is never in short supply. Scott is a well accomplished Batsman over many seasons and was Captain of  the most recent 1st XI and U16 premiership teams.

Congratulations to all award winners on the night:

McIntyre Cup
Batting Jacob Brewer 381 runs HS 87 Ave 54.43
Bowling Jason McGann 62 wickets BB 5/34 Ave 8.94*
Best and Fairest Jason McGann  
Best finals player Jason McGann  
C Grade
Batting Patrick Tyler 243 runs HS 95 Ave 27.00
Bowling Cam Pearson 23 wickets BB 4/21 Ave 14.39
Best and Fairest Jake Stirling      
E Grade
Batting Dom Douglas 312 runs HS 51 Ave 24.00
Bowling Dylan Douglas 24 wickets BB 6/30 Ave 15.21
Best and Fairest Dylan Douglas  
Best finals player Nathan Marshall      
G Grade
Batting Adam Kirk 151 runs HS 46 Ave 30.20
Bowling Daniel Boyd 14 wickets BB 5/19 Ave 10.21
Best and Fairest Adam Kirk      
Club awards
Toby Surkitt Best Junior Award Nathan Marshall
Saba Family Award for Junior Development Daniel Boyd
Best Clubman Marten Kelders
Coaches Award Shayne Lewis
Presidents Award Travis Botten
10 year service award Adam Kirk, Jim Pearson
Duck Award Lee Sacco
Life Membership Paul Webber, Scott Yardley



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s